LIGO Pioneers Receive Kavli Prize in Norway

News Release • September 9, 2016

Earlier this week, three pioneers of LIGO were awarded the Kavli Prize in Astrophysics at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway. Kip Thorne, Rai Weiss, and Ron Drever (represented by his brother, Ian) received a Gold Medal and 'diploma' commemorating the award, and will share a one-million dollar prize for their immeasurable contributions to LIGO over the last 4 decades.

Ron Drever, 2016 Kavli Prize Recipient

Ron Drever

Rai Weiss, 2016 Kavli Prize Recipient

Rai Weiss

Kip Thorne, 2016 Kavli Prize Recipient

Kip Thorne













Recipients of the award were announced in June, but the prize itself was bestowed upon them on September 6, 2016 at an elaborate awards ceremony.

"The detection of gravitational waves is an achievement for which hundreds of scientists, engineers, and technicians around the world share credit. The ingenuity, intellectual leadership, and sheer tenacity of Drever, Thorne, and Weiss were the driving forces behind this epic discovery. It is for these reason that the 2016 Kavli Prize for Astrohphysics goes to Ron Drever, Kip Thorne, and Rai Weiss", said Mats Carlsson, Chair of the Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics, before introducing the winners.

All of LIGO and the LSC congratulate Ron, Rai, and Kip for their immeasurable contribution to the LIGO endeavor.

2016 Kavli Prize in Astrophysics


About the Kavli Prize

Science prizes for the 21st century, the Kavli Prizes recognize scientists for their seminal advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Consisting of a scroll, medal and cash award of one million dollars, a prize in each of these areas is awarded every two years beginning in 2008. The Kavli Prizes are presented in cooperation and partnership with the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.

The prizes are awarded at a ceremony in Oslo, Norway – Fred Kavli's native country – with the President of the Norwegian Academy presiding. Independent of The Kavli Foundation, Kavli Prize recipients are chosen by three prize committees comprised of distinguished international scientists recommended by the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the French Academy of Sciences, the Max Planck Society, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and The Royal Society. After making their selection for Award recipients, the recommendations of these prize committees are confirmed by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.